Plenary Speakers

  • Mark Baccei

    Mark Baccei

    United States of America

    Associate Professor in the Department of Anesthesiology at the University of Cincinnati and The Associate Director of the Neuroscience Graduate Program.

    Title: Remembrance of Things Past: Pain Circuits After Neonatal Injury

  • Sushma Bhatnagar

    Sushma Bhatnagar


    Professor & Head, Department of Onco-Anaesthesia and Palliative Medicine  and Chief Editor, Indian Journal of Palliative Care, All India Institute of Medical Sciences
    New Delhi, India

    Title: Cancer Pain and Palliative care in Children - Are we doing enough


  • Maria Fitzgerald

    Maria Fitzgerald

    United Kingdom

    Professor of Developmental Neurobiology in the Department of Neuroscience, University College London, United Kingdom. 

    (2017 Distinguished Career Award in Pediatric Pain)

    Title: 'The developing pain system: a lifelong story'

  • Linda S. Franck

    Linda S. Franck

    United States of America

    Jack and Elaine Koehn Endowed Chair in Pediatric Nursing
    Professor, Department of Family Health Care Nursing

    Title: Family-centered neonatal pain management – Opportunities not to be missed


  • Stefan J. Friedrichsdorf

    Stefan J. Friedrichsdorf

    United States of America

    Medical Director, Department of Pain Medicine, Palliative Care & Integrative Medicine, Children's Hospitals and Clinics of Minnesota
    Associate Professor of Pediatrics, University of Minnesota

    Title: Myths, Mirrors, Magic and no Morphine? Interdisciplinary Multimodal Analgesia in Children with Complex Chronic Pain

  • Gareth Jones

    Gareth Jones

    United Kingdom

    Reader of Epidemiology, University of Aberdeen, UK

    Title: The epidemiology of pain in children

  • Jeffrey S. Mogil

    Jeffrey S. Mogil


    Professor of Pain Studies and the Canada Research Chair in the Genetics of Pain at McGill University, and the Director of the Alan Edwards Centre for the Study of Pain

    Title: Pain in Mice and Man: Ironic Adventures in Translation


  • Lorimer Moseley

    Lorimer Moseley


    Professor of Clinical Neurosciences, Foundation Chair in Physiotherapy, NHMRC Principal Research Fellow, Chair - PainAdelaide

    Title: Pain, protection and progression: a physiotherapist’s perspectives of chronic pain.

  • Dilip Pawar

    Dilip Pawar


    Formerly Professor, Anaesthesiology, All India Institute of Medical Sciences, New Delhi, India

    Title: Management of post operative pain in low resource setting: A personal journey

  • Laura Simons

    Laura Simons

    United States of America

    Associate Professor in the Department of Anesthesiology, Perioperative, and Pain Medicine at Stanford University School of Medicine in Palo Alto, California, USA.

    (2017 Early Career Award in Pediatric Pain)

    Title: Fear and avoidance: Interrogating neural circuits on a pathway to pain persistence

  • Gary A. Walco

    Gary A. Walco

    United States of America

    Professor of Anesthesiology and Pain Medicine (adjunct in Pediatrics and Psychiatry) at the University of Washington School of Medicine and the Director of Pain Medicine at Seattle Children’s Hospital. 

    Title: Clinical trials of analgesics in infants and children: “A person's a person, no matter how small”

  • Rikard K. Wicksell

    Rikard K. Wicksell


    Head of Medical Psychology, Karolinska University Hospital; Associate professor at the Department of Clinical Neuroscience, Karolinska Institutet

    Title: The role and function of behavioral flexibility in pediatric chronic pain

The Venue

Shangri-La Kuala Lumpur is an award-winning 5-star luxury hotel located in Jalan Sultan Ismail, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia. It is managed by Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts. The hotel is 45 minutes from Kuala Lumpur International Airport.

You might be interested to know about:

Organised By

Malaysian Association for the Study of Pain

College of

Special Interest Group on Pain in Childhood

Supported By

Malaysian Society of Anaesthesiologists

Ministry of Health Malaysia

Ministry of Tourism and Culture, Malaysia

Malaysia Convention & Exhibition Bureau

Tourism Malaysia